Metrics and usage data


ORBi collects, since 2008, a variety of quantitative data for mapping the Institution's scientific production and outreach and to observe the deployment of Open Access.

It is important to use them in combination, taking into account the context and associating them with a qualitative assessment, as recommended by international initiatives like DORA (San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment) and the Leiden Manifesto.

Indicators linked to the publication

Statistics of views and download via ORBi 

  • Number of views of the reference via ORBi.
    The data between parentheses represents the number of vizualisations internally within the University of Liège.
  • Number of downloads  via ORBi, including the requests copy.
    The data between parentheses represents the number of downloads internally within the University of Liège.
  • Detailed usage data by country, by origin of ORBi's visitors (referer)

Citations of the publication

The number of citations measures the number of times a document has been cited by other scientific publications, within a given corpus and over a given period of time. This number, therefore, differs depending on the databases (Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar, PubMed, etc.), which do not have the same scope.

In ORBi we offer citations from different databases :

Almetrics data

These are alternative measures aimed mainly at highlighting the use of scientific publications on the Internet, using, among other things, shares on social networks (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn ...), downloads on platforms such as Mendeley and mentions in blogs or wikis.

Indicators linked to the journal

  • Citescore (Scopus): ratio between the number of citations received by all the articles of the journal and the number of articles published by this journal. It is calculated for a 3-year publication period.
  • SJR (SCImago Journal Rank): measures the impact of a journal by taking into account the prestige of the citing journals (itself calculated on the basis of the number of citations they have received). It is the average number of citations of the journal's articles in the 3 years following its publication, each citation being weighted by the importance of the citing journal. It includes, to a limited extent, a journal's self-citations.
  • SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper): measures the impact of a journal in its field. It relates the number of citations per paper in the journal to the total number of citations in the journal's field. 

Indicators linked to the author or to a group of publications

h-index or Hirsch Index

This index attempts to measure both the scientific productivity and the apparent scientific impact of a scientist. According to Hirsh: "A scientist has index "h" if h of his/her papers have at least h citations each, and the other papers have no more than h citations each."

In ORBi, the "h" index is based on the number of citations of the references listed in the report. For each citations provider (Scopus, OpenCitations...) there is a corresponding h-index. The h-index appears in the bibliometric synthesis of the publications report. 

Discarded metrics

  • Impact factor
    Subscription cancelled by decision of the BiCfB Council of Rectors (CREF) in 2016

  • Google Scholar Citations

    Service blocked by Google Scholar

  • Microsoft Academic Citations

    End of service on December 2021

  • EigenFactor and Article Influence

    End of service in 2015

MORE INFO

Contact ORBi

Indicateurs bibliométriques et données d'usage


ORBi récolte, depuis 2008, diverses données quantitatives afin de cartographier la production scientifique de l’Institution et son rayonnement ainsi que d’observer le déploiement du libre accès.
Il importe de les utiliser en les combinant, en tenant compte du contexte et en les associant à une appréciation qualitative, comme le recommandent des initiatives internationales comme DORA (San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment) et le Manifeste de Leiden.

Indices liés à la publication

Statistiques de consultation et de téléchargement à partir d'ORBi

  • Nombre de vues de la référence via ORBi
    Les données entre parenthèses représentent le nombre de vues en interne à l'Université de Liège.
  • Nombre de téléchargements  via ORBi, y compris les tirés à part.
    Les données entre parenthèses représentent le nombre de téléchargements en interne à l'Université de Liège.
  • Des statistiques d'usage détaillées par pays, par provenance des visiteurs

Citations de la publication

Le nombre de citations mesure le nombre de fois qu'un document est cité par d'autres publications scientifiques au sein d'un corpus donné et sur une période de temps donnée. Ce nombre est donc différent en fonction des bases de données qui n'ont pas le même périmètre.

Dans ORBi nous proposons les citations provenant de différentes base de données:

  • SCOPUS: nombre de citations du document repérées par la base de données SCOPUS (disponible avec ou sans les autocitations)
  • OpenCitations
  • Dimensions
  • Scite

Données Almetrics

Il s'agit de mesures alternatives visent surtout à faire ressortir l'utilisation des publications scientifiques sur internet, en utilisant, entre autres, les partages sur les réseaux sociaux (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn…), les téléchargements sur des plates-formes telles que Mendeley et les mentions dans les blogs ou encore des wikis.

Indices liés au périodique

  • Citescore: ratio entre le nombre de citations reçues par l’ensemble des articles de la revue et le nombre d’articles publiés par cette revue. Il est calculé pour une période de publication de 3 ans.
  • SJR (SCImago Journal Rank): mesure l’impact d’une revue en tenant compte du prestige des revues citantes (lui-même calculé sur base du nombre de citations qu’elles ont reçues). Il s’agit du nombre de citation moyen des articles de la revue dans les 3 ans après sa publication, chaque citation étant pondérée par l’importance de la revue citante. Il inclut de façon limitée les autocitations d’une revue.
  • SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) : mesure l’impact d’une revue dans son domaine. Il met en rapport le nombre de citations par article du journal et le nombre de citations total dans le domaine du journal.

Indices liés à l'auteur ou à un groupe de publications

h-index ou Indice de Hirsch.

Cet indice permet de quantifier la productivité scientifique et l'impact d'un scientifique en fonction du niveau de citation de ses publications.

Selon Hirsh : Un auteur a un indice "h" si "h" de ses publications ont au moins "h" citations chacune, et les autres publications n'ont pas plus de "h" citations chacune.

Dans ORBi, l'indice "h" est calculé sur base du nombre de citations des références contenues dans le rapport. Pour chaque source du nombre de citations (Scopus, OpenCitations...) on retrouve un h-index correspondant. Le h-index figure dans la synthèse bibliométrique du rapport de publications. 

Indices abandonnés

  • Facteur d'impact

    Souscription annulée sur décision du Conseil des Recteurs de la BiCfB (CREF) en 2016

  • Citations Google Scholar

    Blocage du service par Google Scholar

  • Citations Microsoft Academic

    Fin du service au 31/12/2021

  • EigenFactor et Article Influence

    Fin du service en 2015

Plus d'info

Contacter ORBi