Around ORBi


ORBi provides services, not only to various departments within the University of Liège, but also to external institutions and organisations.

 

External collaborations

University of Luxembourg

ORBilu, the "sister" version of ORBi, is the result of a partnership between ULiège and UniLu that began in 2012.

The result of several months of work by the respective Library Directors, this transnational event proved a challenge but also an opportunity for the development of Open Access documents.

The Luxembourg counterpart of ORBi, ORBilu, was born in 2013, accompanied by a mandate based on the ULiège model, leading to the increased visibility of their research and the promotion of a policy focused on open access.

Since 2014, ORBilu has been the official reference source for the generation of publication lists at the University of Luxembourg (activity reports, evaluation files, curriculum vitae).

LEARN+

UMons

In 2021, the University of Mons also embarked on the ORBi adventure!

The University of Mons has had its own institutional database since 2011, and a mandatory submission policy since 2012. However, faced with certain limitations of the tool, the UMons expressed a wish to see it evolve to better meet the needs of the Institution and its researchers by recommending a complete interface for referencing and highlighting the publications of the University and its research. It was in this context and because of its expertise in open access and the development of the ORBi institutional archive that the University of Liège was contacted.

LEARN+

Database for scientific journals

ORBi includes a related journal database with a large number of descriptions of scientific journals. This database, which is updated regularly, is also used by:

  • Mons University
  • Luxembourg University, and
  • EWI for its FRIS portal highlighting Flemish research.

Uses within the Institution

RADIUS

ORBi provides data on a daily basis to the ULiège institutional data warehouse managed by the Data Collection and Analysis and Strategic Information Service (RADIUS). The data concerns all the contents of the database and the bibliometric information.

Reports for the CHU in Liège

Since 2010, the Service d'informations médico-économiques (Simé) has only used references submitted to ORBi to establish the annual report of the scientific publications of the authors of the CHU of Liège.

Institutional assessment

Since the strengthening of the institutional mandate in 2014, all internal evaluations (requests for appointment, promotion or credit allocation) have had to be made exclusively on the basis of publications filed on ORBi.

Web page Widget integration

The ORBi widget is a tool that allows a list of publications to be added within a web page (research units, laboratories, researcher's blog...). This list is updated each time a modification is made or a new publication is uploaded to ORBi and its appearance can be customised (size of the frame, sorting order, number of references displayed...).

Contact ORBi

Autour d'ORBi


ORBi fournit des services à divers départements au sein de l'Université de Liège mais aussi à des institutions et organismes externes.

Collaborations externes

Université du Luxembourg

ORBilu, version "soeur" d'ORBi, est le résultat du partenariat entre l'ULiège et l'UniLu démarré en 2012.

Fruit d’un travail mené durant plusieurs mois par les Directions des Bibliothèques respectives, cet événement transnational était un challenge à relever mais aussi une opportunité pour le développement de l’Open Access.

L’homologue luxembourgeois d’ORBi, ORBilu, est alors né en 2013, accompagné d'un mandat basé sur le modèle ULiège, leur permettant ainsi de gagner une nouvelle visibilité pour leur recherche et de promouvoir une politique axée sur l’accès ouvert.

Depuis 2014, ORBilu est la source de référence officielle pour la génération des listes de publications à l'Université du Luxembourg (rapports d'activité, dossiers d'évaluation, curriculum vitae).

En savoir+

UMONS

En 2021, l'Université de Mons se lance dans l'aventure ORBi !

L’Université de Mons disposait de son propre dépôt institutionnel depuis 2011, et d'une politique de dépôt obligatoire depuis 2012. Cependant, confrontée à certaines limites de cet outil, l'UMONS a exprimé le souhait de le voir évoluer afin de pouvoir mieux répondre aux besoins de l’Institution et de ses chercheurs en proposant une interface complète de référencement et de mise en valeur des publications de l’Université et de ses recherches. C’est dans ce cadre et en raison de son expertise en matière d’Open Access et du développement du répertoire institutionnel ORBi que l’Université de Liège a été contactée.

Base des revues scientifiques

ORBi comporte une base des périodiques connexe répertoriant une grande quantité de descriptifs de revues scientifiques.
Cette base, alimentée et mise à jour régulièrement, est également utilisée par :

  • l'Université de Mons
  • l'Université du Luxembourg
  • l'EWI pour son portail FRIS mettant en valeur la recherche flamande.

Usages au sein de l'Institution

RADIUS

ORBi fournit quotidiennement des données au Datawarehouse institutionnel de l'ULiège géré par le service de Récolte et Analyse de Données et d'Information d'Utilité Stratégique (RADIUS). Les données concernent l'ensemble des contenus du répertoire et ainsi que les informations bibliométriques.

Rapports du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Liège

Depuis 2010, le Service d'informations médico-économiques (Simé) utilise uniquement les références déposées sur ORBi pour établir le rapport annuel des publications scientifiques des auteurs du CHU de Liège.

Évaluation institutionnelle

Depuis les renforcement du mandat institutionnel en 2014, toutes les évaluations internes (demandes de nomination, de promotion ou d'attribution de crédit) doivent être effectuées exclusivement sur base des publications déposées sur ORBi.

Widget d'intégration aux pages web

Le widget ORBi est un outil qui permet d'ajouter une liste de publications au sein d'une page web (unités de recherche, laboratoires, blog de chercheur...). Cette liste est mise à jour à chaque modification ou nouveau dépôt sur ORBi et son apparence est personnalisable (taille du cadre, ordre de tri, nombre de références affichées...).

Contacter ORBi